Home Latest

Former BLACK SABBATH Singer TONY MARTIN Shares New Solo Track ‘As The World Burns’

The track is taken from Tony Martin's upcoming solo album, "Thorns", which will arrive on January 14, 2022 via Battlegod Productions and Dark Star Records.

Former BLACK SABBATH singer Tony Martin has released the official lyric video for his new song “As The World Burns”. The track is taken from his upcoming solo album, “Thorns”, which will arrive on January 14, 2022 via Battlegod Productions and Dark Star Records. Battlegod will handle distribution in Australia, Asia, Europe and Japan, while Dark Star will handle distribution in all of North and South America, including both physical and streaming.

Among the guest musicians set to appear on the LP are Scott McClellan (who helped write the album), Danny “Danté” Needham (VENOM), Magnus Rosén (HAMMERFALL), Greg Smith (ALICE COOPER, RAINBOW, BLUE ÖYSTER CULT) and Martin’s youngest son Joe.

“Thorns” track listing:

01. As The World Burns
02. Black Widow Angel
03. Book Of Shadows
04. Crying Wolf
05. Damned By You
06. No Shame At All
07. No Where To Fly
08. Passion Killer
09. Run Like The Devil
10. This Is Your Damnation
11. Thorns

Tony said in a statement: “This new album is probably the most ‘Tony Martin’ a Tony Martin album has ever sounded!! It’s got several surprises that will lift people’s eyebrows, I am sure. Largely but not entirely based around the riffs of Scott McClellan, new to the world scene, he has proved to be a worthy partner in crime for this release… I was able to make some great songs out of the riffs he was coming up with, which is very similar in the writing sense to that which I experienced with Tony Iommi. Different sound and style, but the riffing talent that someone like Scott has is very cool. It is diverse, melodic, powerful, thought-provoking and of a standard high as ever I have worked on. I believe there are stories still to tell, songs still to be sung, and with this album, I feel it’s achieved everything I could have wished for.

“Grateful to the people who have given their extra talents in appearances on this recording. It’s been a challenge in COVID lockdown, getting everyone’s performances from across the world, but in another way, it was a perfect opportunity to get it done.”

Martin’s last solo album, “Scream”, was released in November 2005 via MTM Music.