Home Latest

JON SCHAFFER Releases A New ICED EARTH Album Called ‘A Narrative Soundscape’

Iced Earth founder, songwriter, guitarist and producer Jon Schaffer has released a new album called "A Narrative Soundscape".

ICED EARTH founder, songwriter, guitarist and producer Jon Schaffer has released “A Narrative Soundscape”, an audio CD of 15 tracks that was originally made available with the purchase of the deluxe edition of his first-ever book “Wicked Words And Epic Tales”. These recordings are a completely re-imagined delivery of the lyrics of ICED EARTH songs created exclusively for this release. Longtime collaborator Jim Morris worked with Schaffer on these versions.

“Wicked Words And Epic Tales” is a collection of lyrics, interviews and pages of artwork that Schaffer’s work has inspired throughout the years. The book is an anthology of lyrics from Schaffer that span his 35 years in making music in various projects, including ICED EARTH, DEMONS & WIZARDS, SONS OF LIBERTY and PURGATORY. The book comes in two unique covers: one created by Jonboy Meyers and another by Jim Balent and Roy Young, and is over 200 pages. The coffee-table art book also features original drawings from some of the most notable artists, including Todd McFarlane, Greg Capullo, Monte Moore and numerous others.

“I wanted to put something together that would be a truly unique experience not only for the fans of my bands, but for newcomers as well,” Schaffer previously said.

“Wicked Words And Epic Tales” was the debut release from Schaffer’s publishing company Wicked Words, LLC and was the first of many original concepts he planned for future release.

Released on January 21 via Ravencraft Productions, “A Narrative Soundscape” features the following tracks:

01. Dystopia (A Narrative Soundscape) (06:06)
02. Declaration Day (A Narrative Soundscape) (03:03)
03. Wolf (A Narrative Soundscape) (02:23)
04. Dante’s Inferno (A Narrative Soundscape) (09:55)
05. Melancholy (A Narrative Soundscape) (02:43)
06. Dracula (A Narrative Soundscape) (04:12)
07. Raven Wing (A Narrative Soundscape) (04:22)
08. Angels Holocaust (A Narrative Soundscape) (02:09)
09. The Clouding (A Narrative Soundscape) (06:13)
10. Something Wicked (A Narrative Soundscape) (11:46)
11. Watching Over Me (A Narrative Soundscape) (02:26)
12. Seven Headed Whore (A Narrative Soundscape) (01:49)
13. Damien (A Narrative Soundscape) (06:56)
14. Question of Heaven (A Narrative Soundscape) (06:00)
15. Come What May (A Narrative Soundscape) (03:44)

Jon Schaffer plead guilty to his role in the January 6, 2021 U.S. Capitol riot back in April. Schaffer agreed to cooperation with the government as part of his plea deal.