Home Latest

PHILIP ANSELMO Talks Playing PANTERA Sets With His Solo Band

Phil talks about revisiting the music of Pantera.

PHILIP H. ANSELMO AND THE ILLEGALS are set to return this week for a very special livestream event known as “A Vulgar Display Of Pantera”.  The multi-camera shot, fully live performance goes down on Friday, April 9 and sees the frontman revisit his former band’s legacy by performing a full set of PANTERA tunes. The concert will also include an opening set by Australian recording artists KING PARROT.

The livestream kicks off at 7:00 p.m. EDT / 4:00 p.m. PDT on Friday, April 9 with PHILIP H. ANSELMO AND THE ILLEGALS taking the stage at 8:00 p.m. EDT / 5:00 p.m. PDT sharp. Video on demand will be available through Monday, April 12 at 11:59 p.m. EDT / 8:59 p.m. PDT.

Find tickets and exclusive merch bundles at illegalslive.com.

Phil recently spoke to Revolver about his decision to play a set of PANTERA songs with PHILIP H. ANSELMO & THE ILLEGALS, saying (transcribed by BLABBERMOUTH.NET): “Things came together, and they had to, because of the circumstances. I was not even gonna do anything like this to the level I’m doing it right now — I mean, I always play a couple of [PANTERA] songs here and there, and that’s fine.

“When we started doing this, it was right after Vince [PANTERA drummer Vinnie Paul Abbott] passed [in June 2018],” he continued. “And there was a few comments and letters that came to my attention. And I spoke to people that I love and trust. And it was a tough decision. Vince had passed, and — shoot — we had two weeks before we left for a tour. We were playing some pretty extreme shit. I was nowhere near PANTERA-level style of vocal. That’s a tough style of vocal, man. Whew — it’s young-man stuff, let me tell you.

“Anyway, we had to throw that shit together quick — T.T. quick, as they say. And I’ve gotta give my guys huge props, man, for just knowing that we were not gonna ever be perfect — we’re never going to be another PANTERA — but we can give a spirited go at it and do the best that we can and really encourage the audience to celebrate it with us,” Anselmo added. “They know the fucking words to those songs. Sing the songs with us. It helps. And it only seems right. So, to me, it’s just a big celebration.”

PHILIP H. ANSELMO AND THE ILLEGALS’ “A Vulgar Display Of Pantera Live” is presented in association with Danny Wimmer Presents.

PHILIP H. ANSELMO & THE ILLEGALS features Philip H. Anselmo (PANTERA, DOWN, SUPERJOINT, SCOUR, EN MINOR) with guitarists Stephen Taylor (SUPERJOINT) and Mike DeLeon (FLESH HOARDER, BEING KILLED, ex-MOD), drummer José Manuel “Blue” Gonzalez (SUPERJOINT, WARBEAST), and bassist Derek Engemann (SCOUR, ex-CATTLE DECAPITATION). The band’s most recent full-length, the critically acclaimed “Choosing Mental Illness As A Virtue”, was released in 2018 via Anselmo’s own Housecore Records.